Here is the post from my other blog that inspired the creation of this one.

A Mind for Madness

I’ve been really into metal music lately, and I think anyone that appreciates good innovative music should love metal. So if you already love Shostakovich, Stravinsky, Mahler, and Debussy and have an appreciation for people like Schoenberg, Crumb, Ives, Cage, and Corigliano, then this guide is perfect for you.

I’ll progress from “easiest” to get into to the most abstract. I’m not going to go into all the sub-sub genres of metal. In fact, I’m purposely misplacing a lot of bands to make the categorization easier. If you’re really into the precise categories please don’t comment why some band that is labelled ambi-djent jazz death metal when it is post-death djent metal with jazz influences or soemthing. I’ll post one characteristic song I like after each band to give an idea.

For future reference, djent refers to the style of quick hitting of the guitar on top of snare/bass to…

View original post 1,027 more words

Leave a Reply

