Mathcore Double Review

I’m haven’t been in the mood to write a full fledged review of anything recently, so to motivate myself I thought I’d write two much shorter surface reviews about two mathcore albums I’ve been listening to:

The first is PsyOpus Our Puzzling Encounters Considered. This is not a new album at all since it came out in 2007, but I’ve never listened to their back catalogue. PsyOpus is insane. They have one of the most extreme, harsh sounds I’ve ever heard in a band. They like to experiment a lot with really intense sounds and noise.

I think early Dillinger Escape Plan is a reasonable comparison, but they are actually a bit more extreme. I’d say they are even a bit more “mathy” than DEP. The rhythmic complication is all over the place and absolutely constant. You never seem to get a break while the songs settle into some regular pattern, because the asymmetry is total.

This is one heck of a great band. Anyone with any sort of interest in extreme music or mathcore really needs this album in their collection. As far as straight-up mathcore is concerned this may be in my top three of all time, but I really have to mentally prepare myself and be in the right mood for it.

I give it a 9/10. Here’s a sample:

The second album is totally under the radar. I’d be surprised if any of my readers (if you even exist) had heard of it. It is Follow the White Rabbit’s Endorphinia. This album released about a month ago. This band defies all classification. At times they produce beautiful soundscapes that could be right from Sigur Ros. Other times they use extremely abstract ideas and sounds that could come from Kayo Dot. Yet other times they could be called extreme hardcore or even mathcore (hence why I’m including it, though they probably don’t call themselves mathcore).

The intricacies of these compositions have me obsessively coming back and listening. I absolutely love it, and have never heard anything like it. I don’t have to get myself in the mood like for PsyOpus, because the album has everything. It blends them all so perfectly that often it is hard to notice how extremely strange the genres being put together are. Maybe the closest overall band I’ve heard to this is TesseracT, though not really because Follow the White Rabbit really doesn’t have any djent influence.

I will admit that this band is probably not for everyone into metal, because a ton of the album is very mellow, beautiful instrumentals. There’s lots of clean singing too. This album has definite potential for album of the year for me. I feel kind of bad putting so little detail in this review for such a fantastic album, but my excuse is that I spend so much time typing stuff up as a grad student I lose all motivation at the end of the day for writing more. I give it a 10/10. Here’s a sample (but this is a whole album effect, so go listen to the whole thing!!):

One thought on “Mathcore Double Review

  1. Tim says:

    I really love the blog. I found it a couple of months ago and then refound it yesterday and just wanted to let you know it’s awesome. I’ve been finding new music to listen to through here. Follow the White Rabbit is awesome and I’m currently listening to Fables of the Sleepless Empire by Unexpect. Anyway, I hope you do some more reviews of lesser known technical/progressive/crazyawesome bands soon so I have more stuff to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

