Quick Update

I’ve hunted around for some last minute things to check out before doing a year end list. My current (and pretty much final) queue is:

Avatarium – Avatarium
Russian Circles – Memorial
SubRosa – More Constant than Gods
Ferocity – The Sovereign
Lycus – Tempest
Tyr – Valkyrja
Heaven Shall Burn – Veto
Kataklysm – Waiting for the End to Come
Zealotry – The Charnel Expanse

I’ll probably listen to each of these around 5 times before discarding it or deciding it is in the running (and then give it more attention). This isn’t as massive a commitment as it seems because I’ve listened to most of these several times already. I also have a lot of time for listening because I’m going to be writing a final exam/grading a final exam plus I have a public transit bus commute most days, and a cross-country trip.

I guess this is a last call if you think there is something that was great this year that I should check out (especially death metal, because I feel like I really didn’t keep up with it this year).

11 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Tim says:

    If you haven’t checked them out, Conscious Seed of Light by Rivers of Nihil and Song of the Crippled Bull by Black Crown Initiate are two of my favorites this year. Conscious Seed of Light is nice and groovy – check out the songs Soil and Seed, and Raineater. Song of the Crippled Bull is a 20 minute EP, but it’s pretty sick. I’ve heard people say there is heavy Opeth influence. I initially thought Veil of Maya without being djenty. Really the only thing I didn’t like about it was the length.

    Persefone’s Spiritual Migration was also pretty good if you haven’t checked it out.

    • hilbertthm90 says:

      Thanks! I decided to immediately give the Black Crown Initiate a listen since it is so short. I had to hit repeat as soon it was finished. That was awesome as a first impression.

  2. Thanks for listening to my recommendation on Zealotry. 😀
    It’s subtle, if anything, as far as Death Metal goes, well pieced together as a whole and each song is internally fluent and consistent. The album doesn’t have extra tracks, I mean like “redundant” tracks. Each track expresses a different idea, and they also all fit into the framework of the album, or so I feel. The whole album is also more than the sum of its parts.

    I think Bolzer’s EP “Aura” is a good listen. It’s all the contrary to “technical” (silly label), but I find myself engulfed in the storm it creates.

    I’ve asked around because I am not going around listening to everything. I got these suggestions (which I’m going to go listen to myself in the following days):

    > Condor – Nadia
    review: http://www.deathmetal.org/news/condor-nadia/
    > Satan – Life Sentence
    review: http://www.angrymetalguy.com/satan-life-sentence-review/
    review: http://www.deathmetal.org/news/satan-life-sentence/

    To clarity, I think it is not only about “listening to enjoy”. I also agree with analyzing the music, but not just in terms on “how many signature changes does this song have”. I think it is important to realize that music, as any art, is a window, a means of expression. You don’t judge a book by how many metaphors it uses, but by how effective and evocative they are, right?

  3. I am just listening to War Master, and think you should add that to your list!
    It may sound primitive and “rehashed” (style-wise). They do reflect that old sound, but are they doing it right?

  4. KennyB says:

    I would think that Nero Di Marte’s self titled album is a mandatory listen.

  5. KennyB says:

    Oh, also:

    Exist – Sunlight
    Geryon – Self Titled

  6. […] an update on my first chunk of four from my list. Lycus’ first studio album Tempest is a slow atmospheric doom album. It is quite well done in […]

Leave a Reply

