What I’ve been up to

First off, I’ve still been going through some lists of people’s favorite albums of 2013 and looking for something to dig in and write a more detailed analysis of. My candidates so far are Ulcerate, Exist, or Zealotry. I can’t believe I missed Ulcerate’s Vermis. I am absolutely loving it so far.

The other thing I’ve been up to is reading Choosing Death: The Improbable History of Death Metal & Grindcore by Albert Mudrian. It was suggested that I cover some “classic” albums, and so I’m educating myself on the history of death metal before tackling that.

It is actually really slow going because so much is referenced in that book, and I want to at least hear a little of most of the bands mentioned to get a feel for how the early stuff changed and influenced each other into what it is today. This means I’ve also been listening to early Napalm Death, Extreme Noise Terror, Celtic Frost, and Repulsion.

I know it is blasphemy, but I had actually never listened to Napalm Death’s first album Scum. I was shocked to find that it is almost entirely punk. Already by Harmony Corruption a few years later they have a sound that I usually associate to them.

Hopefully by next week I’ll have found something more worthwhile to write about.

One thought on “What I’ve been up to

  1. You prompted me to finally start reading this book. It coincides with me fairly recent interest in hardcore, thrash (not “thrash” metal) and grindcore.
    I think the album O Agios Pethane by the band Blood is a good introduction for someone coming from a Death Metal background and interested in Grindcore.

Leave a Reply

