Brief Updates and Favorites of 2014

I haven’t died. I officially finished my thesis and successfully defended it. Then family was in town for all the festivities that go with that. Then I was travelling without internet. Now over a month has passed since my last post.

Someone recently told me about an article from 2007 that was published in Music Theory Spectrum (a wholly legitimate academic music theory journal!) analyzing rhythmic elements in Meshuggah’s I. It can be found here if you are interested. I thought my readers might appreciate that.

Lastly, I’ve been working through re-listening to things I’ve liked this year, because it is half-way through the year already. My halfway favorites list (in alphabetical order):

Artificial Brain – Labyrinth Constellation
Helms Alee – Sleepwalking Sailors
Lord Mantis – Death Mask
Sammath – Godless Arrogance
Thantifaxath – Sacred White Noise

Honorable Mentions:

Archspire – The Lucid Collective
Jute Gyte – Vast Chains
Pyrrhon – The Mother of Virtues

Most Over-hyped (based on my limited glancing around the internet):

Behemoth – The Satanist
Cynic – Kindly Bent to Free Us
Enthroned – Sovereigns
Indian – From All Purity
Triptykon – Melana Chasmata

I used to write these lists and call them the “best” of 2014 or whatever. I now call them my “favorites” because it is based entirely on how much I’ve liked them. For example, I think the Jute Gyte is absolutely amazing in theory, so if I based it on that it would be up higher. Unfortunately, it is only tolerable in small doses, so I can’t really say I love it. On the other hand, I keep putting off reviewing Sammath, because I’m not sure how to articulate much about it. I could keep making lists ad nauseum: most technical, most musical, most avant-garde, etc, but I think this is the one that is most interesting.

For some reason I went back to Krallice’s Years Past Matter and really love it. That is probably my most listened to album of this year that didn’t release this year. Right now I have Agiel Dark Pantheons, Inanimate Existence Never-Ending Cycle of Atonement, and Burzum The Ways of Yore (metal?) in rotation, but I haven’t formed an opinion yet.

I hope to get back to a better schedule, so you can keep an eye out for a review of one of those albums soon.

4 thoughts on “Brief Updates and Favorites of 2014

  1. david says:

    Nice to hear from you!
    Let us know when you’ll be back in full force. 😀

  2. Tim says:

    Hey man have you checked out Destrage’s “Are You Kidding Me? No.” or Son of Aurelius’s “Under A Western Sun”? Destrage’s is probably my favorite so far this year, but I’ve been playing Under A Western Sun pretty frequently the past couple of weeks.

    Also, I completely agree with your over-hyped list. Cynic’s album seems to be getting all this praise just because it’s Cynic, but I didn’t find it all that exciting (kind of like Mastodon’s new album).

    • hilbertthm90 says:

      Wow. I just listened to the Destrage for the first time. I’m looking forward to getting to know this better.

  3. jan says:

    write a review for Sammath! cheers jan/sammath

Leave a Reply

