Thoughts on Panopticon’s Roads to the North

Now that I’ve written my thoughts, I looked back at what I said in 2012 about Panopticon’s previous album, Kentucky. I find it interesting that my reaction to that album was almost exactly the same as this one.

If you haven’t kept track, recall that Panopticon is Austin Lunn, a one-man Kentucky (or Minnesota, I can’t quite track this down) based black metal/bluegrass fusion band. Honestly, I’m still fascinated by the idea that this might work. I had a lukewarm impression of his last album, but I thought this one would blow me away with its perfect unity of these two distinct styles.

This album doesn’t hold up for me. First, they’ve moved away from the black metal aesthetic quite a bit as the first track shows. The song is all over the place. It has black metal influenced parts, but shifts to some standard rock beats with almost metalcore style riffs and even some power metal sounding parts.

The bluegrass influence on the track comes from fiddle riffs (?) during the black metal parts. I sort of like the metal part, because it creates this deep, static atmosphere. The fiddle is a novelty that doesn’t add the correct feeling to the song. It is playing an arpeggiated, moving part which contrasts awkwardly with the static guitars. If the fiddle were doing tremolos here, I think it would add a nice texture that actually fits with the sound.

The next track is one of the best. It starts with acoustic guitar accompaniment to a tin whistle (?) and fiddle duet. It then goes into the metal part. This time I’m not sure how to classify it. Maybe post-rock? The fusion with the traditional instruments actually works here. Despite this, I don’t find the song itself that interesting. It is incredibly repetitive, and the content on repeat is pretty standard stuff.

The next three tracks are three parts of one epic song. It starts with banjo accompaniment to fiddle, and turns into a traditional bluegrass stringband piece. Sadly, I think this is where the band shines. Their pure bluegrass material is excellent. The rest of the epic is post-metal. There’s lots of atmosphere with droning, shoegaze guitar. The bass work is really good. It sounds like something that you might expect from a prog band.

Overall, my impression is that Panopticon really know their bluegrass, but the novelty of fusing that with metal hasn’t been ironed out yet. The metal itself is all over the place. I still feel the project has tons of potential, but right now I’m just not feeling it (and apparently I’m the only one as I’ve seen something like 6 stellar reviews and no criticism). What I think other reviews confuse is the difference between the idea of this album (excellent!) and the actual execution.

I even feel a little bad writing harshly about a one-man project, because it feels like a much more personal attack than to criticize a large band. Don’t take my word for it. Form your own opinion. Here’s a sample:

One thought on “Thoughts on Panopticon’s Roads to the North

  1. fenrir says:

    “and apparently I’m the only one as I’ve seen something like 6 stellar reviews and no criticism”

    Welcome to postmodern pop reviewers… The more like a carnival that includes everything music sounds the more different people will like it. The music is just a joke.

    Could I call your attention to my favorite 2013 album?
    Condor’s Nadia

    As with the albums I suggested before, I’m not looking for praise of something I like but your thoughts and observations which are always interesting to read.

Leave a Reply

