Halfway 2015 List

It’s that time of the year again. I’ve listened to 30 albums this year so far (I haven’t reviewed them all). I tried to go back through and listen to candidate “best” ones before making this list, but I didn’t get through all that I wanted to.

Favorites (in alphabetical order):

Cóndor – Duin.

This held up upon listening again. Raw, emotive music drawing on the great romantic composers.

Kjeld – Skym.

I couldn’t really remember much about this one. Listening again was worth it, because it was better than I remembered.

Sickening Horror – Overflow.

I know a lot of you weren’t thrilled by this, but even on listening again, I really like it.

Upsilon Acrux – Sun Square Dialect.

Not really metal, but complicated in all the right ways to create meaningful music.


Has Potential:

Irreversible Mechanism – Infinite Fields.

Mature and interesting technical death metal. I need more time before moving it to favorites.

Exhumation – Opus Death.

I didn’t get around to relistening, but from memory, I can’t say it was a favorite. It could move up there by the end of the year.


Not as good as I initially thought:

Leviathan – Scar Sighted.

There is no doubt that this album has some excellent moments. As a whole, I think I overpraised it initially.

Misþyrming – Söngvar elds og óreiðu.

I honestly expected to be blown away when I listened to this again. I wasn’t.


Biggest disappointments:

A Forest of Stars – Beware the Sword You Cannot See.

After hearing excellent things for years, I wanted to experience it myself. Definitely not worth it.

Enslaved – In Times
Leprous – The Congregation.

These were bands I’ve loved in the past. These albums were duds at best.


The stuff I have queued for review, but never got around to it: Jute Gyte, KEN Mode, Monolord, Sigh, Tempel, and Torche.

Does your list look mine? If so, I’d love to hear what I’ve missed.

4 thoughts on “Halfway 2015 List

  1. David says:

    Don’t have anything really outstanding for you. Although the Cult of Endtime wasn’t bad for a very conventional release.

  2. Tim says:

    If you’ve got the time, you should check out this band called Sein zum Tode from Columbia, SC. They just came out with a ~20min EP called Second Siamese Cousins Never Removed. There’s some Psyopus-esque stuff along with some vod-like bass and a Screaming Mechanical Brain-ish sense of goofiness. They have an album from 2013 called BEEEP. that’s pretty good and a little more diverse as well.

    As far as my list goes, there hasn’t been too much I’m super excited about. Between the Buried and Me’s album leaked and I’ve listened to it a couple of times, but not enough to really form a great opinion. I’m looking forward to Orbs’s “Past Life Regressions” if it ever comes out, as well as the new Dreadnought album “Bridging Realms” and Lamb of God’s new album. The Black Dahlia Murder’s “Abysmal” has me pretty stoked too, especially since seeing the album art.

  3. Thank you for your kind words, best regards K. – Kjeld

  4. Eden says:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzsWWswCFpI I think you may find this interesting.

Leave a Reply

